Introducing SAA’s 2023-24 Board of Directors

Red phone

Introducing SAA’s 2023-24 Board of Directors

Thanks to everyone who attended the Saskatchewan Arts Alliance’s AGM on September 27. Poet Laureate dee Hobsbawn-Smith presented memorable works as part of the artist Intervention following the AGM.

In February 2023, the SAA Board of Directors met to review and modernize the organization’s bylaws. The current bylaws were last reviewed over 20 years ago. Several amendments were put forward at the AGM and were carried unanimously after critical dialogue with those in attendance. For more information, click here.

Mary Blackstone, Professor Emerita in the Department of Theatre and Director of the Centre for the Study of Script Development at the U Regina was honoured with a lifetime membership to the SAA after immense contribution to the organization in the areas of research and research funding.

SAA is pleased to introduce its 2022/2023 Board of Directors.

Newly elected board members are Lyndsay Amato, educator and public speaker; Kelsey Ford, artist and printmaker; Carla Harris, a disabled, mad queer enby writer, performer and interdisciplinary artist; Danica Lorer, oral storyteller, freelance writer, face and body painter, poet, event organizer, volunteer, workshop facilitator, arts advocate, and the host of Saskatoon’s literary arts program ‘Lit Happens.’ Read more about them here!

Remaining on the Board is 2022/2023 Board of Directors.

Remaining on the board are Krystal Glowatski, artist, entrepreneur, and owner of Olive’s Branch Art Studio; Josh Haugerud, freelance musician and arts advocate; Jeff Morton, media artist, curator, musician, Director and Curator of the Godfrey Dean Art Gallery; Daniel Parr, Program Officer, SaskBooks; and Alejandro Romero, independent visual and interdisciplinary artist, curator and consultant in Arts and Culture.

“Thanks are due for those who are stepping off the board and have already done so much for the community,” says President, Daniel Parr. Thanks are also in order for those who are remaining on the board and those new to the board for their generosity in letting their names stand to serve the community. I look forward to working with this great group of people in the coming year to continue to aid the Saskatchewan Arts Alliance in fulfilling its mandate and serving the community.”