Saskatchewan Arts Alliance Presents 07/08 Board of Directors

For immediate release

October 3, 2007

Saskatchewan Arts Alliance is pleased to announce its Board of Directors for the 2007 ? 2008 year. Mr. Kim Houghtaling, Director and Curator of the Art Gallery of Swift Current, will serve as President. Houghtaling, also a visual artist and sculptor, has served on the board for the past 5 years. He succeeds Saskatoon musician Skip Kutz who remains on the board as Past President.

“I look forward to building on the important work of the Arts Alliance,” Houghtaling said. “Since joining the board, I have learned first-hand how important this organization is to the development of the arts sector. Outgoing President, Skip Kutz, has done tremendous work in promoting our sector and furthering our initiatives.”

Newly elected board members are Lee Henderson, Regina contemporary artist and sessional lecturer at the University of Regina; Amy Nelson-Mile, Regina writer and Programs Officer at the Saskatchewan Writers Guild; and Rosthern’s Susan McKenzie, C/V/H Coordinator at the Batoche National Historic Site.

Members returning to the board to complete their two-year terms are Cynthia Dyck, Saskatoon actor and arts administrator; Saskatoon writer Don Kerr; Rouleau’s Brenda Sherring, Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Museums Association; and Amy Thibodeau, Communications Officer at the MacKenzie Art Gallery in Regina.

Saskatchewan Arts Alliance, a non-partisan coalition of arts organizations provides a collective voice for the arts in Saskatchewan. SAA promotes the lively existence and continued growth of the arts and cultural industries. Established in 1984, the SAA advocates on issues such as public funding of the arts, freedom of expression, and artists? working conditions.


For additional information:

Marnie Gladwell, Executive Director

Saskatchewan Arts Alliance

#205A 2314-11th Ave., Regina, SK. S4P 0K1

t. 306 780-9820 f. 306 780-9821

For immediate release

October 3, 2007