SAA News Release

October 1, 2014


The Saskatchewan Arts Alliance (SAA) is pleased to introduce its 2014/2015 Board of Directors.

Kelley Jo Burke, an award-winning playwright, director, storyteller, CBC documentarian and broadcaster, is elected to the position of President. Burke is excited to take on her new position as SAA President: “Our research shows that the arts matter to people in Saskatchewan – and not in some vague, we like it because it's good to like “Art” sort of way. People here really value what the arts do for their quality of life, the quality of their children's lives and education, and the health and prosperity of their communities,” she says.  “I look forward to working with our membership and my fellow board members in support of our artists and arts organizations – because doing that benefits everyone. How great is that?”

Directors newly elected to the Board are Tarin Hughes, educator, community curator, and Executive Director of AKA Artist-Run; and Heather Ritenburg, choreographer, performer, and educator.

Pamela Haig Bartley, actor, director and professor at the University of Saskatchewan will remain on the Board as Past President.

Also remaining on the Board are professional musician Shelley Ewing; Marcus Miller, curator, writer and Director of the Snelgrove Gallery; and Yvette Nolan, playwright, dramaturge and director.



The Saskatchewan Arts Alliance, a non-partisan coalition of arts organizations, provides a collective voice for the arts in Saskatchewan. SAA promotes the lively existence and continued growth of the arts and cultural industries. Established in 1984, the SAA advocates on issues such as public funding of the arts, freedom of expression, and artists’ working conditions

For more information contact:

Jessica Riess

SAA Communications and Outreach Officer

306-780-9820 or email