

2022 AGM Minutes

Saskatchewan Arts Alliance | September 14, 2022 | Online via Zoom

In Attendance:

Alejandro Romero Artist | City of Saskatoon Consultant
Andrea Martineau Program Advisor, Creative Sask | Writer

Arthur Milner Artist
Ashley Johnson Artist
Breanne Harmon Artist

Bruce McKay La Troupe du Jour

Caitlin Coflin Instructor and Choreographer | Youth Ballet of Saskatchewan

Carla Harris Disabled Artist

Curtis Anderson Horus Eye Productions

Cynthia Dyck On the Boards

Daniel Parr SaskBooks | SAA Board Member

Donna Woloshyn Artist

Heather Cant Persephone Theatre

Jack Walton Saskatchewan Writer's Guild Board Member

Jaime Boldt Globe Theatre | SAA Board Member

Jeff Morton Godfrey Dean Art Gallery | SAA Board Member

Jennifer Brewin Globe Theatre
Jillian Bell SaskBooks

Johanna Bundon Artist | Curtain Razors
Josh Haugerud Regina Folk Festival

Kathryn Ricketts University of Regina | Artist | SAA Board Member Kathy Allen Consultant with the City of Saskatoon | Artist

Kayla Stadnick Saskatchewan Choral Federation

Kevin Korchinski OSAC

Krystal Glowatski Olives Branch Art Studio

Leah Garven City of North Battleford Art Galleries

Leah Moxley Teigrob Saskatchewan Craft Council

Lenore Maier Common Weal

Lioz Bouganin Landslide Entertainment

Marcus Miller Mann Art Gallery

Mark Claxton Saskatchewan Association of Theatre Professionals

Marnie Gladwell Former Executive Director of SAA | Artist

Professor Emerita, Department of Theatre | On Cue Performance Hub |

Mary Blackstone SAA Board Member

Rania al-Harthi Artist

Sarah Hoag Dance Saskatchewan

Suzanne Campagne Conseil Culturel Fransaskois

Sitruc James

Sok Kim MacKenzie Art Gallery

Tara Janzen Remai Modern

Traci Foster Listen to Dis' Wendy Nelson CARFAC Sask

William Hales U of R Faculty of Media, Arts, Performance

SAA Staff

Em Ironstar SAA Executive Director

Jessica Riess SAA Communications Officer

Call to Order at 2:06 P.M.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Motion #1: Move to adopt the agenda. (J.Bell/S. Hoag: carried unanimously)

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting

Motion #2: Move to approve the minutes from the 2021 Annual General Meeting. (J. Boldt/S. Kim: carried)

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

No business arising from the 2021 minutes.

First Call for Nominations

Three nominations presented: Krystal Glowatski, Jeff Morton, C. Alejandro Romero

4. Q&A Reports

Executive Director E. Ironstar touched on a few key things – SAA made progress toward sustainability. Greatest achievement included the successful grant application, which resulted in increased funding and increased internal capacity. SAA will be able to hire a full-time Research Lead and a contract Communications Digital Collaborator.

SAA hosted and partnered with some fantastic folks and organizations to hold an engaging online event series.

E. Ironstar opened the floor to questions regarding the Annual Report, and stressed that she is available to discuss the material by telephone or email. She thanked those who supported the SAA over the past year, to president D. Parr, to SAA's outstanding Board of Directors including outgoing board members K. Ricketts and M. Blackstone.

Second Call for Nominations

Call for nominations. No nominees from the floor were presented.

5. Financial Report

Motion #3: Move to accept the Financial Report as presented in the Annual Report. (M. Blackstone, J. Boldt: carried)

Motion #4: Move to reappoint the accounting firm Marcia Herback & Associates, Chartered Accountant as SAA auditor for the 2022/23 fiscal year. (M. Blackstone, B. McKay carried).

Third Call for Nominations

Third and final call for nominations from the floor. J. Boldt nominates Josh Haugerud – Executive Director of the Regina Folk Festival. J. Haugerud allows his name to stand.

Farewell and thank you to long standing board members Mary Blackstone and Kathryn Ricketts

Motion #5: Move to close nominations. (S. Hoag, B. McKay: carried unanimously.)

6. Election of Directors & Appointment of Marnie Gladwell as Lifelong Member of SAA

The slate of candidates presented: Krystal Glowatski, Josh Haugerud, Jeff Morton, C. Alejandro Romero

Motion #6: Move to accept the slate of nominees as proposed. (S. James, C. Harris: carried unanimously.)

Recognition of Marnie Gladwell for her efforts at the SAA and her advocacy of the arts

Motion #7 Move to award Marnie Gladwell the first Lifetime Membership of the Saskatchewan Arts Alliance (S. James, C. Harris: carried unanimously.)

7. Proposed Bylaw Amendment & Policy re. Board Member Honorarium & Expenses

SAA is at the beginning of the process but an honorarium to board member will allow more people to contribute to the organization

Motion #8: Move to approve the bylaw amendment and policy regarding Board Member honorariums and expenses. (J. Boldt, L. Maier: Carried)

Discussion around amendments

CARFAC Sask and SK Arts are the models for the amendments

C. Harris – unrepresented people are often less paid or under paid for their work so they only way some of these people will be able to contribute. The idea is to bridge the gap to make inclusion possible is by tackling some of these barriers

- S. Hoag Board Members give their expertise and so it is nice to see these people compensated. It is a nice gesture!
- J. Brewin the time of freelance artists is limited and this kind of compensation allows them to be heard.

8. Other Business

No other business presented

Adjournment

Motion #9: Move that the meeting be adjourned. (S. James)

Meeting adjourned at 2:40 P.M.