

2021 AGM Minutes

Saskatchewan Arts Alliance | September 22, 2021 | Online via Zoom

In Attendance:

Amanda Farnel Festival of Words

Bo Batbaatar Analyst, Parks, Culture and Sport

Brenda Baker Artist
Jack Walton Artist
Janelle Pewapsconias Artist
Skip Kutz Artist

Kathy Allen Arts and Grants Consultant, City of Saskatoon

Jess Richter Arts Gallery of Regina

Kathleen Crowther artSpace
Emma Williams artsSpace
Michael Jones CEO, SK Arts

Em Ironstar Artist, Incoming SAA Executive Director

Leah Garven City of North Battleford Galleries

John Kennedy Cultural Exchange

Sarah Hoag Dance Sask

Jaime Boldt Globe Theatre and SAA Board Member

Jeff Morton Godfrey Dean Art Gallery

Bruce McKay La Troupe du Jour Marcus Miller Mann Art Gallery

Jennifer McRorie Moose Jaw Museum and Art Gallery
Kathleen Irwin On Cue Performance Hub - check on this

Cynthia Dyck On the Boards

Kevin Korchinski OSAC

Travis Cole Paved Arts

Mike Forrester Regina Symphony Orchestra

Tara Janzen Remai Modern

Jeremy Morgan SAA

Kathryn Ricketts

Mary Blackstone

Yulie Campos

Elaine Kaloustian

Tracy Hamon

Kam Teo

Sheryl Neher

SAA Board Member

Sask Orchestral Society

Sask Writer's Guild

Sask. Book Awards

Sheryl Neher

Sask. Choral Ass'n

Warren Rutherford Saskatoon Musicians' Assoc.

Megan Grier Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra

Daniel Parr SaskBooks and SAA Board Member

Dean Kush SaskCulture CEO

Lioz Bouganin SMPIA

Olivia Kristoff Wanuskewin

SAA Staff

Marnie Gladwell Barbara Meneley Jessica Riess SAA Executive Director
SAA Research Officer
SAA Communications Officer

Call to Order at 3:01 P.M.

Welcome to special guests Kathy Allen, Arts and Grants Consultant, City of Saskatoon; Bo Batbaatar, Government of SK Analyst, Parks, Culture and Sport; Michael Jones, SK Arts, CEO; Dean Kush, SaskCulture, CEO.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Motion #1: Move to adopt the agenda. (K. Korchinski/M. Blackstone: carried unanimously)

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting

Motion #2: Move to approve the minutes from the 2020 Annual General Meeting. (B. McKay/M. Blackstone: carried)

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

SAA board members Yulissa Campos and Risa Payant resigned from the board

Olivia Kristoff, Indigenous art curator and writer and Tara Janzen Director of the Remai Modern appointed in the 2020-21 year

First Call for Nominations

Call for nominations. Re-election of Mary Blackstone, Professor Emerita in the Department of Theatre and Director of the Centre for the Study of Script Development at the U Regina; Jaime Boldt, Executive Director, Globe Theatre; and Daniel Parr, Program Officer, SaskBooks.

4. Q&A Reports

President J. Boldt commended outgoing Executive Director Marnie Gladwell of her hard work who was recently awarded with the Leadership in the Awards. SAA thanked M. Gladwell and sent flowers in thanks and celebration of Gladwell's last AGM she has to attend.

Second Call for Nominations

Call for nominations. No nominees from the floor were presented.

Executive Director's and Program and Services Report

Executive Director Marnie Gladwell presented the reports and opened the floor to questions regarding the Annual Report, and stressed that she is open to discussing the material in the annual report by telephone or email. She thanked the board, staff, and community for their support

5. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer M. Blackstone presented her report, also included as part of the Annual Report. SAA ended the 2020-21 year with unrestricted net assets of \$22,888. Last fiscal year's programming related to the mandate review, postponed because of COVID-19 restrictions, was completed in this fiscal year. Blackstone opened the floor to questions regarding the financial report and audit.

Motion #3: Move to accept the Financial Report as presented in the Annual Report. (M. Blackstone, T. Hamon: carried)

Motion #4: Move to reappoint the accounting firm Marcia Herback & Associates, Chartered Accountant as SAA auditor for the 2020/21 fiscal year. (M. Blacktone, T. Hamon: carried. SMPIA abstained).

6. Election of Directors

Third Call for Nominations

Third and final call for nominations from the floor. No new nominations were presented.

Motion #5: Move to close nominations. (S. Hoag, B. McKay: carried unanimously.)

Motion #6: Move to accept the slate of nominees as proposed. (T. Cole, T.D. Solheim: carried unanimously.)

The slate of candidates presented: Mary Blackstone, Jaime Boldt, and Daniel Parr

Thank you to outgoing board members Risa Payant, Yulissa Campos, Stacey Bliss

8. Adjournment

Motion #7: Move that the meeting be adjourned. (D. Parr)

Meeting adjourned at 3:25 P.M.